Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to apply prescribed displacement harmonic perturbation?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi
I am new to COMSOL. My model is simplified to a cantilever beam subject to an external excitation which is a sine pulse of constant displacement of 0.5mm with a frequency ranging from 5-50 Hz. I try to use the prescribed displacement with harmonic perturbation option but I am facing problems. First I don't understand which boundary to apply the prescribed load to, and secondly I am unable to understand how the harmonic perturbation option works.

I am using Solid Mechanics module with frequency-domain modal study, creating a cantilevered beam of dimensions 100*10*1 mm (Just to play around with) and doing a frequency sweep from 5-50 Hz.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Rohan

1 Reply Last Post Mar 11, 2016, 1:56 a.m. EST
Henrik Sönnerlind COMSOL Employee

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 8 years ago Mar 11, 2016, 1:56 a.m. EST
Hi,

Whether to enter the excitation as Harmonic perturbation or not depends on details in the study settings.

This is described in the section 'Structural Mechanics Modeling' ->' Study types' -> 'Harmonic perturbation' in the documentation.

The short answer (which does not cover all cases) is that 'Harmonic perturbation' should be used for a mode superposition analysis, but not for a direct frequency domain analysis. In either case, you only enter the amplitude and phase of the excitation. The harmonic part is implicit.

Look for example at the 'elbow_bracket' model in the Application Library.

Regards,
Henrik