Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Nernst-Planck equation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hey everyone,

I am new in using the Comsol software (4.1). I want to model ionic behavior in a conical nanopore and need to solve the Nernst-Planck, Poisson and Navier Stokes equations.
However I need the Nernst-Planck without electroneutrality and Comsol does not seem to offer that. There are three models for Nernst-Planck, the Nernst-Planck, transport of diluted species and transport of concentrated species.
I chose the Nernst-Planck as it is the electrolyte I want to model.

Can anyone help me figure out how I can implement the N-P equation without electroneutrality? In the older software that is used in our lab (Comsol 3.5) there is an extra model for that, but not in the 4.1. Or have I simply not found it?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Nils

9 Replies Last Post Jan 24, 2014, 5:19 a.m. EST

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 15, 2011, 4:54 p.m. EST
Dear Nils,
I think you'll find what you're looking for is a "tickable" box that appears in the Settings window for the "Transport of diluted species" module. Under "Transport mechanisms" you may select convection and migration. I hope that helps.

By the way, I am interested in a similar problem and I am having trouble solving the NPP equations under transient conditions: have you succeeded in that? what study configuration have you used? I have tried several things but none seem to work.

Cheers,

Javier.