Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Modifying Expressions of 4.1 by using expressions of 3.5a

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear Users,
I am new to Comsol 4.1. I had some problem in the expressions. Before i was using 3.5a but now i switched to 4.1. Here some of the variables are different due to which i have some problems in the expressions. The expressions of 3.5a are given below. I need some help to modify it into 4.1.

ofact if(nx*x+ny*y+nz*z>=0,1,-1) Sign factor for outward normals on interior boundaries
onx nx*ofact Outward normal on interior boundaries, x-component
ony ny*ofact Outward normal on interior boundaries, y-component
onz nz*ofact Outward normal on interior boundaries, z-component
P0 0.5*E0^2*c0_rfw*epsilon0_rfw Incident flux
scPoxav 0.5*real(scEy*conj(scHz)-scEz*conj(scHy)) Scattered flux, x-component
scPoyav 0.5*real(scEz*conj(scHx)-scEx*conj(scHz)) Scattered flux, y-component
scPozav 0.5*real(scEx*conj(scHy)-scEy*conj(scHx)) Scattered flux, z-component
nscPoav onx*scPoxav+ony*scPoyav+onz*scPozav Scattered normal flux
nPoav onx*Poxav_rfw+ony*Poyav_rfw+onz*Pozav_rfw Total normal flux on interior boundaries
r sqrt(x^2+y^2+z^2) Radius-vector
dsigma_near nscPoav/P0*r^2 Differential scattering cross-section, near-field definition
dsigma_far (normEfar^2/(r/1[m])^2)/abs(E0)^2*r^2 Differential scattering cross-section, far-field definition
sigma_ext_near sigma_near+sigma_abs Total extinction cross-section, near-field calculation
sigma_scat_OT sigma_ext_OT-sigma_abs Total scattering cross-section, Optical Theorem calculation

BR,

Cecil

3 Replies Last Post Jun 1, 2011, 12:54 a.m. EDT