Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Laminar pipe flow- 3D post processing

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm new to COMSOL Multyphisics. I succesfully built a 3D model of Laminar pipe flow. These are the conditions and geometery paprameters I used.

Length of the pipe= 0.05m
Radius of the pipe= 0.001m
Density of the fluid= 1000kg/m^3
Viscosity of the fluid= 0.05 Pa*s
Inlet pressure= 400Pa
Outlet Pressure= 0Pa

Reynolds number is 40

Boundary conditions :
No slip walls
Inlet= Pressure, no viscous stress P0=400Pa
Outlet=Pressure P0=0Pa

Stationary

I got my Vmax = 0.0412 m^2/s with a Extra coarse mesh.

Problems:

When ever I tried to use a finer mesh than this it gives me an error saying " "Failed to find a solution. Out of memory during LU factorization. Returned solution has not converged." or " Out of memory in stationary solver" .

For post processing, I want to plot Volumetric flow rate (Q m^3/s) vs Viscosity (mu) and Q vs Radius (m).

Can somebody let me know why i'm getting error messages when I tried to use a finer mesh and please give me some information that will help me and get me started on post processing.

Thank you

5 Replies Last Post Mar 14, 2015, 7:18 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Jun 1, 2011, 12:49 a.m. EDT
Hi

I have noticed, that often it's better to set up some initial conditions on velocity and pressure drop (i.e. linear pressure drop and parabolic velocity profile), check the Forum it has been discussed many times

Check that you are in laminar (or respective turbulent) flow conditions and that your mesh is related (Reynolds mesh number see the doc

--
Good luck
Ivar