Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Heat transfer coefficient

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hallo,

im quite new to Comsol and i hope you can help me.

I try to calculate the convective heat transfer coefficient between a concrete ceiling and the air in the room.
It should be natural convection.

I read and tried to modify the tutorial example "free convection" but this doesent really work.

do you have any hints for approaching this problem?

thanks, best regards
Max

4 Replies Last Post Aug 18, 2011, 11:33 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Aug 17, 2011, 5:05 p.m. EDT
Hi

For me it is no obvious to understand exactly what you are trying to simulate.
I normally define a parameter for the heat convection, and I use 2, 5 or 10 [W/m^2/K] for respectively no air motion, natural motion or forced air motion, but this is for "pure surface" heat exchange when I do not bother to simulate the air via CFD.

if you have measurements for air and wall temperatures for given heat sources, and want to make a model to match experimental results, you need to declare your convection coefficient as a dependent variable for a least square regression (with or without the optimisation module)

Finally if it is to try out the advanced pre-defined wall convection models of COMSOL CFD/HT well I can only recommend to use the latest version and patch, as these are much more advanced in handling such cases, as well as the doc and the model library has nice examples to learn and start with

--
Good luck
Ivar