Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Mixing two fluids with static mixer

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm attempting to model two fluids mixing through a static mixer. I'm using two Laminar Flow physics for each fluid and the Transport of Concentrated Species to get an idea for when it's fully mixed by mass fraction.

However I keep getting all sorts of meshing errors when it attempts to "create free mesh" (which generally takes about 15 minutes on i5 processor, 16gb RAM) that I believe is a result of the Transport of Concentrated Species physics.

I attached the model for reference if it helps. I'm new to COMSOL and the art of meshing. Can anyone lend a hand?

Thanks!

5 Replies Last Post Dec 7, 2016, 2:14 p.m. EST

Posted: 1 decade ago Dec 28, 2011, 10:41 a.m. EST
The Laminar Flow boundary conditions in the first attached files went missing for some reason. I've attached the correct file.

Whenever I run the study it creates a new mesh that fails due to "Internal error in boundary respecting." Any ideas where it's going wrong?

Thanks.
The Laminar Flow boundary conditions in the first attached files went missing for some reason. I've attached the correct file. Whenever I run the study it creates a new mesh that fails due to "Internal error in boundary respecting." Any ideas where it's going wrong? Thanks.

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Dec 28, 2011, 3:16 p.m. EST
Hi

I must say I do not really understand your model, rather I do not understand how the two SPF physics interact as they solve on the same domain,"as if they where alone". But this could also be a lack of knowledge from my part, I have never had time to follow and intensive chemistry training course, as this is not my "everyday cup of tea".