Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

failure to find solution in newer version of COMSOL

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am a student with very minimal experience with COMSOL (most of what I know, I have learned just from experimenting with the program). I am modeling fluid flow through a flow chamber (see attached model). COMSOL was able to find a solution when I ran the study for this model in an older version (either 3.5 or 3.5a, I can't remember). However, now that I have updated to 4.2a, running the same model fails to find a solution (Error message is "Maximum number of Newton iterations reached.") I have tried different mesh sizes, without success.

Since I am not familiar with the commands and capabilities of 4.2a, I am hoping someone can direct me toward where I am going wrong. I have attached images of some results I obtained from running the model in the older version (Reynolds number and velocity field slices). I need these results to be verified when I run the same model in 4.2a, before I can move on to redesigning the chamber.

Thanks!

7 Replies Last Post Jun 17, 2016, 2:23 a.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago Jan 24, 2012, 4:22 a.m. EST
Hello there,

I am also having the same problem. I was given a model that was constructed on a previous version of Comsol, which apparently ran fine in that version. Now when I run it in Comsol 4.2a I get the error:

Failed to find a solution.
In segregated group 2:
The relative error (1.3e+002) is greater than the relative tolerance.
Returned solution is not converged.

Is there something I have to change in the model to make it compatible with my version of Comsol?

Thank you for your time,
Carolyn.