Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Importing/Specifying your own voltage signals

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi there,

I am new to COMSOL, very new, so there is every chance I am barking up the wrong tree with this. However, I have been able to construct a 2D model:

5 x 0.5mm radius HV electrodes arranged in a line, equi-spaced. Around these is a rectangular array of ground electrodes so that the HV and grounds are mostly equal distance apart.

In the gap between the HV and GND's there is a dielectric material. I have all this sat in a big box of air.

Now I used the Electrostatics module, and was able to define the edges of the HV's as voltage potentials and set them to 20kV, like wise I defined the edges of the grounds as grounds. I was also able to define the materials for all the regions and I assume thats all you need to do there (just define the material, then leave it floating in space).

COMSOL can calculate the resulting electric field and to me at least, it looks reasonable. It certainly matches what I have managed with equivalent circuits in a SPICE program.

What I want to try now is applying a voltage signal. I have actual oscilloscope data I would like to use of a fast rise time HV signal (0-20kV in 100 ns). Failing that, I have approximate forms generated by single wiebe functions (these at least present nice smooth curves).

How do I actually get such signals into COMSOL? Can I do that with the electrostatics module? Or do I need use a different module - one of the RF modules? - ( I have full access here). Any help is much appreciated.

6 Replies Last Post Sep 12, 2012, 3:22 p.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago Sep 12, 2012, 12:46 p.m. EDT
Hi,

I have done something similar (although with acoustics module, not electical)