Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Piezo energy harvester

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I'm new to this Forum, greetings to all.

I am studying on piezoelectric energy harvester, trying to simulate the power output of such an device with COMSOL. I know that there are other discussions about this topic but my forum search does not find any good answers. At least I did not understand everything.

So for the start I wanted to verify a COMSOL Conference paper from 2009 that can be found here:

ftp.ing.unibs.it/~ferrari/Sensori_B/Guizzetti_Comsol2009.pdf

Since this is a open circuit analysis it is not exactly what I have in mind but a good beginning.
I set up the pzd physics and created the geometry. The results for the displacement vs. layer thickness graph are more or less the same. But I do not get the same output for the charge and voltage values (as shown in Fig. 4 in the paper).

I have played with the settings for the PZD Terminal. The first guess was to set it to terminated with P_0=0 W. I set the reference impedance to physics controlled. As there is no power transfered form or to this terminal it should be open circuit, right?
Then I tried to set it to Charge Q_0=0 and Voltage V_0=0 mode. With V_0=0 I can create the (negative) charge plot from the paper and with Q_0=0 I get the same Voltage curve shape - but some degrees lower than in the paper.

Attached paper1 with P_0=0 and paper1.2 with Q_0=0 and V_0=0 results. Hope you don't mind.

Does someone know what I did wrong?
It seems that I do not fully understand the function of the Terminal mode settings. Can someone please enlighten me?

Btw. how can I plot data with different axis scale (left and right axis) like shown in Fig. 4 in the paper?

So many questions...

I appreciate any help.

5 Replies Last Post Feb 21, 2015, 4:48 a.m. EST