Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Attributes for each region, integration over region

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Greetings,
I am new to Comsol and tried to see if a similar discussion has been carried out before without luck.
I have a magnetostatic model with several regions (windings). I need to connect variables to each region such as conductor dimensions and integrate the B-field e.g. in a formula like:
(B-z)^2 * (conductor height)
Each region has a different conductor dimension so the integration must be carried out for each region.
I must be able to connect a variable or an attribute to each region.
This is a common problem to find AC losses. I am sure there is a way to do this but I cannot find out how.
Please help how to achieve this.
Best regards
Kamil

2 Replies Last Post Nov 15, 2012, 6:04 a.m. EST
Erik Bornhöft COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 15, 2012, 5:16 a.m. EST
Dear Kamil,

you can use an integration operator for your purposes. You can define one in Model>Definitions>Model Couplings. By default it is named "intop1". Select in which geometric entities you want to integrate. In any expression (i.e. variables, boundary conditions, global evaluations,...) you can use "intop1(argument)" to get the value of the integration of <argument>. Please refer also to "About Model Couplings and Coupling Operators" in the documentation.

Variables of your coordinates are always available, like x,y,z. You can also define your own coordinate systems under "defintions". To get i.e. the length of an edge, you can define an integration operator on that edge and evaluate "intop1(1)" to get the length or use the "measure"-tool from the COMSOL tool bar.

--