Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Simulation of leakage flux from transformer

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello.

I've tried to simulate a quantity of leakage flux from transformer by using COMSOL 4.3a. To do this, I made a simple transformer model with LiveLink for AutoCAD.(I want to attach mph file, but its size is too big to attach)
And I chose "mef" module for simulation. But an error message comes out. Here is the message.

The following feature has encountered a problem:

Failed to find a solution.
Divergence of the linear iterations.
Returned solution is not converged.
- Feature: Stationary Solver 1 (sol1/s1)
- Error: Failed to find a solution.

I'm a beginner of COMSOL, so I can't find any solutions to fix this error. Is there any way to fix this error?

Regards,

Mizuki

5 Replies Last Post Mar 18, 2013, 3:52 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Mar 13, 2013, 7:05 a.m. EDT
Hi

the error messages are difficult also for trained users ;) if that is of any help ...

First of all MEF is a heavy solver looking after both A (magnetic) and V the voltage, do you really need the V in your case ? Else MF is lighter, often its worth to start simple i.e. in MF solving only for A then when it works OK add replace by MEF to add V effects hence you know if the issue is from A or V, now you cannot.

A common ewrror in MEF is to forget to give a conductivity for all domains (even the air) , or define a node for domain(s) using only MF as a sub node to MEF (then you do not need any conductivity

--
Good luck
Ivar