Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Maxwell Stress Tensor

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello all,

I'm new to Comsol and Im having a little difficulty getting my head around how the Maxwell Stress Tensor operates. I understand its operation when applied to parallel wires (Like in the example given in Comsol) but when I try to use it for my own model I don't understand it's behaviour.

I'm currently using Comsol to look at the scattering of electromagnetic waves from a dielectric sphere. I also want to look at the forces on the sphere.

All I've tried to do is to add a line integration, with the surface of the sphere chosen as the line, and then there is an option to get the upward and downward Maxwell Stress Tensor.

This gives me a complex result which doesn't make sense to me. Perhaps my understanding of the problem isn't complete? Is there a better way to work out the force on the particle?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Mark.

19 Replies Last Post Nov 6, 2014, 8:43 a.m. EST
Sergei Yushanov Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 3, 2013, 8:46 a.m. EDT
Mark,

Radiation force on the particle is calculated as:

Fx=intop1(emw.dnTx), [N]

where

intop1(): integration over particle surface,

emw.dnTx: Maxwell downward surface stress tensor, x-component. Note that this variable contains electric and magnetic components of the time- averaged Maxwell stress tensor and is purely real.

Similarly, you can calculate x- and y-components of the radiation force.

I verified this calculation for dielectric, magnetic, and metal particles. Comsol solution agrees perfectly well with Mie analytical solution.

Regards,
Sergei