Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Applying AC voltage

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,
I'm currently studying the electromechanical effects of a water droplet under AC/DC voltages. The water droplet is placed between two rectangular electrodes. I've applied a electric potential to one of the electrodes and grounded the other.
I currently I have no issue simulating DC conditions in electrostatics, however when I simulate AC conditions I encounter a problem. I disable the stationary study and add frequency domain study. Leaving the magnitude in the electric potential, in the study settings I add a frequency of 50Hz. When I compute the simulation there is no electric potential or electric field.
Can someone help. Am I doing this process right or am I missing a step?

9 Replies Last Post Aug 28, 2013, 9:02 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago May 6, 2013, 1:24 a.m. EDT
Hi

In frequency domain, with amplitude in the "voltage value" and a frequency defined in the frequency domain solver should absolutely give you a voltage drop as result.
Are you sure you have boundaries selected in the two BC selection boxes ?

And use rather the terminal than "electric potential" in this way you get out directly the lumped port/terminal values as global integrated values

--
Good luck
Ivar