Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

error when coupling reactive flow and heat transfer

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone,

I am a Comsol beginner and I am trying to model a turbulent reactive flow (homogeneous gasphase reaction).
I created a coupled model for the reactive flow and the heat transfer, very similar to the model "syngas combustion in a round-jet burner" in the library.
The model runs for the turbulent reactive flow (at least for some concentrations given in initial conditions and inflow) but when I try to couple it with the temperature, it first seems to converge pretty well but then gives this error:

Segregated group 4
Attempt to evaluate non-integral power of negative number.
- Function: ^
Failed to evaluate operator.
- Operator: nif
- Geometry: 1
- Boundary: 1 2 4 5 7
Failed to evaluate expression.
- Expression: nif((comp1.rspf.d_w_plus<(10/(comp1.rspf.Sc_wCO^0.33333333333333331))),nojac((comp1.rspf.d_w_plus*comp1.rspf.Sc_wCO)),(comp1.rspf.d_w_plus<sqrt(((comp1.rspf.kappav*1000)/comp1.rspf.ScT_wCO))),nojac(((15*(comp1.rspf.Sc_wCO^0.66666666666666663))-(500/(comp1.rspf.d_w_plus^2)))),nojac((((15*(comp1.rspf.Sc_wCO^0.66666666666666663))+((log(comp1.rspf.d_w_plus)*comp1.rspf.ScT_wCO)/comp1.rspf.kappav))-(((comp1.rspf.ScT_wCO*0.5)*(log(((comp1.rspf.kappav*1000)/comp1.rspf.ScT_wCO))+1))/comp1.rspf.kappav))))
Failed to evaluate variable.
- Variable: comp1.rspf.wplus_wCO