Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Importing time dependent Boundary Condition

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello to everyone,

I am new to the use of COMSOL, and i am wondering if it is possible to import a time dependent BC from a .txt file.

Practically, I have to set up a time dependent mechanical model in which my geometry has a time dependent BC coming from the results of a CFD simulation with another software.

The .txt file I have to import within the comsol model is made as follows:

x y z A(t1) A(t2) A(t3)......A(tn)
. . . . . . .
. . . . . . .
. . . . . . .
. . . . . . .

I have tried to use an interpolation function in which the "position in file" is a time variable, but comsol returns me the message error "the file position must be a positive integer".

Can anyone suggest me how to solve the problem? Can COMSOL handle this kind of situation?

Thank you all.

7 Replies Last Post Jun 9, 2015, 4:16 a.m. EDT
COMSOL Moderator

Hello Danilo D'Agostino

Your Discussion has gone 30 days without a reply. If you still need help with COMSOL and have an on-subscription license, please visit our Support Center for help.

If you do not hold an on-subscription license, you may find an answer in another Discussion or in the Knowledge Base.

Posted: 9 years ago Apr 28, 2015, 10:06 a.m. EDT
Hi Danilo,

I encountered a quite similar problem recently. I want to import time and space dependent boundary conditions from a file too. But it seems that COMSOL cannot handle the time dimension. I m wondering if you have found a solution or find a way to get around it.

Thx