Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Creating an Oscillating Capacitor

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new to COMSOL, having only attended a free workshop a number of months ago. I want to model an oscillating capacitor. One plate of the capacitor needs to oscillate at a specific frequency while the other plate remains still. Of course this will create a varying capacitance as the distance between the plates changes with oscillation.

To try to understand how to get started with this I have been looking at the capacitor_tunable.mph model under the AC/DC Module > Electrical Components. This seems to be a good place to start as the model library states;

"In an electrostatically tunable parallel plate capacitor you can modify the distance between the two plates when the applied voltage changes. For tuning of the distance between the plates the capacitor includes a spring that attaches to one of the plates. If you know the characteristics of the spring and the voltage between the plates, you can compute the distance between the plates. "

However the model library help doesn't discuss the separation of the plates after this. In my attempts to change the distance between the plates by changing the applied voltage(Physics>Boundary Settings>Groups>(unnamed2)>Vin), I don't seem to be getting changes in the solution. For example when plotting the global variable 'C11_emes' under Postprocessing it is always ~0.09pF regardless of the applied voltage. How can I view the change in distance between the two plates after solving the problem? What equation under Physics is controlling the distance between the plates? Where is the spring equation?