Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electric Field in a Three Phase PILC Cable Won't Solve

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi

I am brand new to comsol, and I've set up a simplified model of a PILC cable consisting of a lead sheath, three copper conductors and an insulating material. The insulator is a material that I created with the correct elec permativity. I am trying to solve this in the stationary domain for now, but eventually want to use the time domain to see how things change during one AC cycle.

If I set the insulator to have a conductivity of 0, the error when solved reads
"There are 3314 void equations (empty rows in matrix) for the variable comp1.V2...... "
When I set the conductivity to something like 0.0001S/m I get
"Failed to find a solution. The relative error (7.6) is greater than the relative tolerance."
I'm guessing this is due to current conservation or boundary conditions ???

I am having problems with the following:
1) How to set up the AC source in the cable, I can't find where to set the values of Current and Voltage for the three phases.
2) How to get the model to solve and plot an electric field.

In case it makes a difference, the lead I used also had some red X's next to it when I first used it, so I just set those numbers to arbitrary values.

I have attached my model to make it easier to see any problems...
Thanks in advance for any help!

4 Replies Last Post Jun 9, 2015, 9:50 a.m. EDT
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 9 years ago Jun 9, 2015, 9:03 a.m. EDT
Robbie,

you have to set a potential to the wires and ground to sheath.

For an AC study you can use a frequency domain study in case the ac voltage is harmonic. You can enter complex values to take the phase shift into account.

I am attaching the modified model.

Cheers
Edgar

--
Edgar J. Kaiser