Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

frequency domain study of a heat transfer model

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone.

I am new to comsol, it would be appreciated if someone helps me. I want a frequency domain study analysis of a heat transfer model. Is there an easy way in comsol to do this.?

Basically I have a dielectric resonator antenna DRA, I perform thermal simulation using Heat transfer model analysis to analyze the effect of ambient temperature on the surface of DRA over certain period of time. Now I want to saw the radiation pattern and S11 parameters of antenna, that what is the effect of temperature on the radiation pattern of antenna.?

Thanks in advance.

3 Replies Last Post Aug 7, 2015, 8:23 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 9 years ago Aug 6, 2015, 8:47 a.m. EDT
Hi

The Thermal modelling "COMSOL Physics" has not been set up for thermal frequency domain analysis, still it's possible, but you must tweak the physics and the solvers by hand, somewhat tedious but makable.

But normally, the heat diffusivity is such that the penetration depth of the diffusing heat "wave" is really small, so it has some meaning only for nano-technology, or MEMS, certainly not for dimensions more usual for us humans.

I have done it recently, somewhere, but in V5, I would need some days to dig my model out again. Support might help you quicker.

--
Good luck
Ivar