Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Modeling Eddy Current due to Moving Magnet

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I'm a little new to COMSOL, so I've been having a little trouble with a project I've been working on. There are several parts to it, the way I see it:

1) I'm first modeling a "halbach array." This is basically five magnets placed in an orientation such that there is a field on one side, but no field on the other side. Halbach arrays are useful because of their monopole-like nature, making them viable for levitation due to their not breaking Earnshaw's Theorem.

2) I'm then moving this halbach array over an aluminum sheet. The changing magnetic flux induces circular eddy currents in the sheet.

3) As per right hand rule, these eddy currents generate a magnetic force upward, causing a levitation in the halbach arrays.

I have been able to successfully model halbach arrays in 2D and 3D. This is actually just an easy application of the mf module, where I make sure to orient the north poles of five magnets in the orientation: left, up, right, down, left. Verified.

However, I'm now unable to model the eddy currents, which is preventing me from achieving my final goal of being able to measure this levitation force. I've tried several different modules, including mfh and mef, but to no avail. My first idea was to adapt COMSOL's eddy current braking model, but this proved to be unsuccessful, and the computer I used (it has 32gb of RAM!) timed out on my adapted code. Maybe I'm doing something wrong?