Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Coupling Pressure with EOF

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am modeling electroosmotic flow (EOF) in a microfluidic chip. The chip has 2 inlets and 1 outlet. The EOF part seems to be working well. I am using Electric Currents (ec) and Laminar Flow (spf) physics.

On top of the chip are fluid reservoirs. As fluid flows from inlet to outlet the fluid height in the inlet reservoirs decreases and the fluid height at the outlet reservoir increases. This should cause a change in pressure that I would like to model. I have attached a simplified sketch (not to scale) with one inlet and outlet that should clarify my problem.

I am new to fluid dynamics so I may be approaching this problem in the wrong way but here is what I have so far.

The initial pressure (P0) at each reservoir is the same. Once the problem starts (t=0) an electric field is applied between one of the inlets and the outlet. The second inlet is unbiased for now. At any time t>0 there will now be a pressure difference between the inlets and outlet.

I have derived an equation for the pressure in the reservoirs based on the equation P=rho*g*h, where P is pressure, rho is the fluid density, g is gravity, and h is the fluid height in a reservoir.

At a reservoir the pressure will be P = P0 + Pt, where Pt is the pressure change as a function of time. Which is to say the pressure change due to fluid emptying from the inlet or collecting at the outlet.

Therefore, Pt = rho*g*ht, where ht is the change in fluid height in a reservoir. Now volume (V) in the cylindrical reservoirs is given as V=pi*r^2*h, therefore, h = V/(pi*r^2). The change in volume in the reservoirs is equal to the volume flow rate Q multiplied by time. Q = A*v where A is the cross sectional area of the microfluidic channel and v is the flow velocity.