Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

radiation from oscillating permanent magnet

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello!

I am new to COMSOL! I started using it about a month ago. What I am trying to simulate is the EM radiation from a rotating permanent magnet. I have managed to model the rotating magnet with Rotating Machinery, Magnetic. For the radiation I should use RF module, right? Could I combine these two? Or is there a way to model the rotating magnet through the RF module?

Thanks in advance!

Stylianos

4 Replies Last Post Aug 5, 2017, 5:48 a.m. EDT
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 7 years ago Aug 3, 2017, 11:50 a.m. EDT
Updated: 7 years ago Aug 3, 2017, 11:53 a.m. EDT
Interesting. If you don't mind my asking, would you be willing to tell the forum a bit more about your problem? In most cases, a physically-rotating magnet would not spin so fast that radiation would become an important consideration. That is, the time-varying local EM fields could be computed in a conventional quasi-static manner quite accurately. And even if you could spin a physical magnet as fast as, say, 100,000 RPM, the wavelength of the resulting free-space radiation would still be 3 km. And at 10,000 RPM, the wavelength would be 30 km. So in most everyday situations, the local-field interactions (e.g., anything within a 100 meters of your magnet) would probably be of far more interest to you than the radiated fields.