Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Thermal Residual Stresses in Metal Ceramic Assemblies

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, I am new to Comsol and I'm trying to simulate the resulting thermal stresses in a metal ceramic assembly. The temperature is reduced from 1065 degrees C to 20 degrees C. In the Simulation "with symmetry boundaries" I have no problem solving the simulation but in the simulation "without symmetry boundaries" I get an error message: Maximum number of Newton iterations reached Returned solution is not converged. In the Simulation "with symmetry boundaries" I have no boundary constraints but in the simulation "without symmetry boundaries" the boundary constraints are necessary but I don't know exactly how to set the constraints, because I want the assembly to be "free". I set the boundary constraints like it was shown in the tutorial "Thermal Initial Stresses in a Layered Plate" Is it possible to get nearly the same results in these two models? I need this because in the next step there won't be symmetry. Could you please help me with this? Thanks a lot. Sorry for the double attachements. I forgot to change the names of the files.

2 Replies Last Post Feb 6, 2018, 4:21 p.m. EST

Posted: 6 years ago Feb 6, 2018, 10:21 a.m. EST

Hi Jessy,

in version 5.3a there is a Rigid Motion Suppression node under Domain Constraints.

Another possibility is to use a Fixed Constraint node in one point(3 degrees of freedom) and three Prescibed Displacements for the rotational degrees of freedom.