Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Coefficient Form PDE and periodic boundary conditions

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I'm new to COMSOL so I would like some help regarding the following -

I'm trying to perform a phononic crystal simulation using coefficient form pde. I have a hexagon with a circular hole shape removed - this is my geometry.

I want to apply a zero flux boundary condition at the circular shape and periodic boundary conditions at opposing edges of the hexagon.

So I end up using 3 periodic boundary conditions, for the 3 pairs of opposing sides of the hexagon. Unfortunately COMSOL sets up zero flux boundary conditions by default on all the boundaries and I don't see how I can remove this boundary condition on the hexagon's edges on which I only want the periodic boundary conditions.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Kartiek.
I'm using COMSOL 4.0a

10 Replies Last Post Jan 14, 2015, 2:10 a.m. EST

Posted: 1 decade ago Aug 3, 2011, 1:37 p.m. EDT
I have now attached the .mph file that I have been working on.

Please can someone explain how I may not have the zero flux boundary condition on the hexagon's 6 edges?

Thanks,
Kartiek
I have now attached the .mph file that I have been working on. Please can someone explain how I may not have the zero flux boundary condition on the hexagon's 6 edges? Thanks, Kartiek

Posted: 1 decade ago Aug 3, 2011, 6:02 p.m. EDT
I don't have access to COMSOL right now, but I think it would help if you defined a material "air" (with the acoustic properties of air) and then filled the holes with that.