Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Initial values not taken into account ?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I hope everything's well for you ! I am fairly new to COMSOL and I am performing a CFD simulation with laminar flow and biphasic flow with level set method. As I am studying the filling of my geometry, I use a time dependant study.

I am facing an issue with the simulation : - I assigned a first step of initial value in my first domain with my material that will fill the cavity (u = 3mm/s et a pressure at 1) - I assigned a second step of initial value for the air present in the cavity where nothing happens at time t=0s (everything is at 0)

However in my results, it seems that only the initial values of my first domain are taken into account in all the geometry, and I cannot really understand why. Has anybody faced the same issue and can maybe give me some advice on this ?

I hope I have been clear enough ! Here are some photos of my geometry : - The first one shows the speed at time t=0s where I think I should see no speed in he second domain - The second one is to show the two domain I am working with Thanks in advance for your help !

2 Replies Last Post Dec 3, 2018, 5:54 p.m. EST
Michael Rembe Certified Consultant

Posted: 6 years ago Nov 30, 2018, 9:17 a.m. EST

Hi Pauline, please explaine it little more detailed. I don't understand the sense of your steps 1 and 2. Do you mean study steps? In this case you have to set the "Values of dependent variables" correctly.

You can control the initial value by "Get initial value for step".

Best regards Michael Rembe

-------------------
Michael Rembe
Rembe Consulting PartG mbB
www.rembe-consulting.de