Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Solver asking for variables in domain it is not supposed to solve for in Nonisothermal Flow

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all!

I have been working on a model for a while now and keep getting the same kind of errors over and over. It is probably a stupid mistake, as I am a novice in COMSOL (as a student), but I cannot figure it out.

In my model, there are two steps, one for computing a turbulent flow through one domain and one for computing the heat flow through the entire model, as well as convection in one domain that has no initial flow (but is seperated from the other domain). I have included a picture of the problem to this post, as well as a .mph file of my model.

The model is perfectly able to compute the step for the turbulent flow. However, it keeps failing on the second step computing the heat flow. In the second study step, it gives an error that says that the Nonisothermal Flow interface that has the turbulent flow interface (over domain 5) selected for Fuid Flow under Coupled Interfaces, lacks a velocity component in a domain it is not even supposed to solve for (domain 8). I included a picture of the error to this post (Error_Domer.png).

To try and counteract the error, I tried to first have the model solve for a Laminar Flow in the domain the Nonisothermal Flow is asking for, but it seems unable to solve for a stationary domain which should display no flow, or zero velocity (Error_Domer_2.png).

Can anyone pinpoint what is going wrong?

All help is welcome. Thank you in advance!

3 Replies Last Post Oct 10, 2019, 5:47 a.m. EDT

Posted: 5 years ago Oct 8, 2019, 2:16 p.m. EDT
Updated: 5 years ago Oct 8, 2019, 2:16 p.m. EDT