Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

frequency dependence of capacitance to examine influence of harmonics

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello!

I am new to comsol and am still learning a lot of new things, I know my question has probably been asked many times, but I still can't figure a way to solve my problem:

I want to simulate a voltage with two frequencies, such as 50 Hz and 350 Hz to test the influence of the third harmonic on the capacitance/permittivity of my dielectric. I am using the time dependent study and have entered Asin(wt) + A/2sin(3wt) for my voltage electrode, my model looks a little like the AC/DC example of capacitor_ac, except with an additional guard ring. My model works so far, I can see my field lines and have my current values, but I somehow can't simulate the capacitance/permittivity of my dielectric? I have read on this forum that people recommend the frequency domain study to simulate capacitance/permittivity, but I think this study wouldn't be relevant to my problem, since I will be defining my two frequencies. Should I be tackling this problem another way instead? Does somehow maybe have a better idea? Would appreciate help!

Jun

5 Replies Last Post May 7, 2020, 4:02 p.m. EDT
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 4 years ago May 4, 2020, 3:37 p.m. EDT
Updated: 4 years ago May 4, 2020, 3:38 p.m. EDT

Jun,

permittivity is a material property that needs to be specified. The model cannot measure it. So unless you specify a frequency-dependent permittivity you won't see any impact of the frequency you apply to the capacitance of the model.

Cheers Edgar

-------------------
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com