Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Using stationary computational results as the initial condition for time-dependant solution

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, I'm kind of new to transient analysis in COMSOL and I have a few questions.

Is it possible to use the reults of a stationary study as the initial conditions for transient analysis?

For example, in my current model(using the joule heating and optimization module), I have system heating up to a steady state temperature through a defined current density and boundary heat source. I want to know how long it will take for all parts of the system to cool down to room temperature if the heater and current are turned off.

So far, I've tried introduce a stationary solver as step one, and then a time-dependant solver as step two. However, this just gives me a time dependant solution of the system heating up (not cooling down). I have also tried to use the "Store Solution 2" option in the solver configurations by
- right clicking on the "Store Solution" option and selecting "compute to selected"
- manually changing the heat source and current density to 0
- deleting the optimization solver
- selecting "use store solution 2" under solver configurations--> dependant variables 2 --> Initial values of variables solved for
- and finally right clicking on the "Store Solution" option and selecting "compute from selected"

But, this method just gave me a solution of everything at room temperature.

Can you please help me with this problem?

5 Replies Last Post Jun 20, 2016, 5:57 p.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 23, 2012, 9:02 p.m. EST