Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

residence time distribution in laminar flow comsol 4.2

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi there, I am new in using Comsol and I am trying to obtain residence time distribution by Comsol, I used fluid flow-single phase flow-laminar flow from Comsol model wizard to model flow between two concentric tubes. Now I need to obtain the residence time distribution for this flow. I found a tutorial with name of "residence time in turbulent reactor ". It used Comsol 3.5a and Chemical Engineering Module>Mass Transport>Convection and Diffusion>Transient analysis, but this module is not available in Comsol 4.2. Can anybody give me a tutorial related to Comsol 4.2 or give me some advice?
Regards

3 Replies Last Post Jul 6, 2013, 3:37 p.m. EDT
COMSOL Moderator

Hello Meisam Babaie

Your Discussion has gone 30 days without a reply. If you still need help with COMSOL and have an on-subscription license, please visit our Support Center for help.

If you do not hold an on-subscription license, you may find an answer in another Discussion or in the Knowledge Base.

Posted: 1 decade ago May 2, 2012, 5:00 p.m. EDT
Hi, I am also newbie and I am facing exactly the same problem with this tutorial. I cannot make it to the new version of comsol. Tutorial is written for the old one, 3.5...
I tried many things, I went according to the original manual and I tried improvising but to no success. Then I went through watching and searching exactly same icons, that didn't work either.
I then move to another problem but I would really like to get this model working, therefore I would like to use it in my research for thesis.