Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Induced charge on a surface by a charged object at different relative positions

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new in COMSOL and I was wondering if anyone could five me any idea. I want to simulate the evolution of the induced charge on a surface as the relative position to a charged object varies, this variation must be parametrized by the user and not due to the electrostatic effects. My first idea was to parametrize the position of one object as a function of time but i couldn't. Is possible to do it in any other way? Thank you very much in advance!

Gerard

3 Replies Last Post Apr 15, 2013, 10:15 a.m. EDT
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 12, 2013, 7:18 a.m. EDT
Gerard,

you can parameterize the position of an object in a stationary study. You have to add a parametric sweep to the study and choose a range for the position parameter. This will generate the geometry and the mesh in each parameter loop.

Cheers
Edgar
--
Edgar J. Kaiser
www.emphys.com
Gerard, you can parameterize the position of an object in a stationary study. You have to add a parametric sweep to the study and choose a range for the position parameter. This will generate the geometry and the mesh in each parameter loop. Cheers Edgar -- Edgar J. Kaiser http://www.emphys.com

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 12, 2013, 8:52 a.m. EDT
Hi