Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Heat transfer - defining function to calcutate stress by using calculated temperatures from COMSOL

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everybody,

I'm new to COMSOL Multiphysics. At the moment I am simulating a heat flux passing through a cylindrical sample using the 2D axis symmetrical function. COMSOL gave me back the temperature of the sample at "every point" and at every defined time (t=0 until t=500s) of my sample. I have a 2D revolution of my sample.
But now, is it somehow possible to define a custom physical function to calcutate the thermal stress by using the temperature from COMSOL? Is it then also possible to make a 2D revolution plot but not with temperature but then with the stress as a variable?

I tried to define a analytic function (right click on global definitions ) but i somehow can't connect it to the results from COMSOL. I then defined my parameter E (youngs modulus), a (thermal expansion coefficient) and T_0 (ambient temperature).

Does anyone have experience with such problems?

Best
Ruiyi

2 Replies Last Post Jan 28, 2014, 4:43 a.m. EST
Zoran Vidakovic, COMSOL COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 decade ago Oct 31, 2013, 8:04 a.m. EDT
Dear Ruiyi,

Welcome as new user to the COMSOL forum!
What you describe is possible to solve with COMSOL. There are two main approaches:
1) Solve heat transfer and structural mechanics (thermal expansion) with the individual physics interfaces (either sequentially or simultaneously)
2) Use a precoupled physics interface (e.g. Thermal Stress)

You can find many tutorials in the Model Library (View > Model Library) or on our webpage: www.ch.comsol.com/models