Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electric field in air between metal tip and semiconductor

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello, I'm new with COMSOL. I'd like to know what is the most suitable module or procedure to study the electric field in air between a metal probe and a semiconductor. I understand that "Electrostatics Module" only works with metals or dielectrics, so it is not valid. But the "Semiconductor Module" apparently works just with semiconductors (so gap, density of states, carrier mobilities... are properties to be due in each domain). How can I do to solve electric fields outside de semiconducting layers, namely air? Thanks a lot!

3 Replies Last Post Dec 8, 2013, 10:53 a.m. EST
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago Dec 8, 2013, 5:45 a.m. EST
Hi,

if you are only interested in the field in the air domain you can use electrostatics and just ignore the conductors. You would then use perfectly conducting boundary conditions or just potential boundary conditions.

Cheers
Edgar

--
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com
Hi, if you are only interested in the field in the air domain you can use electrostatics and just ignore the conductors. You would then use perfectly conducting boundary conditions or just potential boundary conditions. Cheers Edgar -- Edgar J. Kaiser emPhys Physical Technology http://www.emphys.com

Posted: 1 decade ago Dec 8, 2013, 8:10 a.m. EST