Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Which BC needed?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hey there,

I am quite new to comsol so maybe there is an easy way to do it. I have a pipe with an internal helix structure which is repeated after a 180° twist. I want to use this symmetry to save computational power. Therefore I need to find boundary conditions, where the flow field at the outlet is equal to the flow field at the inlet.

I already tried periodic flow conditions but it resolves in a flow speed of zero since the inlet/outlet pressure difference is equal.

The model is attached. Do you have any suggestions for me?

Best regards
Jonas

3 Replies Last Post Nov 25, 2014, 2:11 a.m. EST
Mikael Noerregaard Nielsen

Posted: 10 years ago Nov 24, 2014, 3:44 a.m. EST
Hey Jonas

A symmetry boundary condition exists in COMSOL which can be selected like any other surface boundary condition.

Just to clarify: What are you trying to model, meaning which results are you looking for?

Best regards

Mikael

Hey Jonas A symmetry boundary condition exists in COMSOL which can be selected like any other surface boundary condition. Just to clarify: What are you trying to model, meaning which results are you looking for? Best regards Mikael

Posted: 10 years ago Nov 24, 2014, 3:54 a.m. EST
Hi Jonas