Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Time dependant temperature at the boundary

Rogelio Hernandez Aguirre

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new in COMSOL, so probably this question will be really naive for you, but I need to ask. I want to apply in one of the faces of my model a temperature that is changing with the time , what I have is a table of 20 set of datas

Temperature Time
20 0
32 300
50 500
55 642

And so on. However, I don't know how to introduce my data to change the boundary condition of the model according to my data, I am trying to use a Time dependent study but I don't know how.
I used a parametric sweep to change the temperature, but this option doesn't let me change the temperature according to the time.

I hope you can help me. I am sure is a really easy issue.

Rogelio

10 Replies Last Post Feb 16, 2015, 3:56 a.m. EST

Posted: 9 years ago Jan 28, 2015, 1:39 p.m. EST
Hi

It is possible by defining a piecewise function under Global --> Definitions --> Functions. Remember to add the unit for the argument and the function. Comsol gives the default name "pw1" for your function. Then, at the boundary condition box write pw1(t). I tried this and it works.

Good luck
Lasse
Hi It is possible by defining a piecewise function under Global --> Definitions --> Functions. Remember to add the unit for the argument and the function. Comsol gives the default name "pw1" for your function. Then, at the boundary condition box write pw1(t). I tried this and it works. Good luck Lasse

Posted: 9 years ago Jan 28, 2015, 7:42 p.m. EST
Thanks Lasse,