Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electricfield Streamlines

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi!
I am new to COMSOL and I have a very simple model consisting of 2 electrodes.
When i try to simulate for electric field lines, using the streamline function by the magnitude controlled option i get non symmetric lines even though my model is symmetric. Each time I change the density under the magnitude controlled option, i get different lines with different types of asymmetry.
Some density values give me a reasonably symmetric result.
I have two questions:
1. Why is my plot asymmetric when the complete model is symmetric?
2. why do some densities give a reasonably symmetric plot whereas others do not? What does density really mean in this function
Also what does magnitude controlled really mean and how is it different from the other options?

Thank you!

7 Replies Last Post Feb 19, 2015, 4:33 p.m. EST
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 9 years ago Feb 16, 2015, 5:23 p.m. EST

Hi,

streamlines can be a little tricky. It is important to choose good start points. In the magnitude controlled way COMSOL sets many start points where the field magnitude is high.
Even if your model is symmetric, the mesh may be not, if you are using the automatic meshing procedures. The small mesh related asymmetries may spoil the streamline picture.
You can get around that by defining your own start points in a symmetric way.

Cheers
Edgar

--
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com