Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Modelling a heat sink with COMSOL

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I'd like to model a certain Aavid heat sink that has a profile that can be seen in the picture I'll attach. I'm new to Comsol so I don't have much experience with creating objects of certain profile. I'd know how to create a heat sink with normal fins but this one is a little bit tricky for me as it has a bit inclined and curved fins. I also considered doing the profile in Solidworks and importing it to Comsol, but I'd like to stick to Comsol for the moment.

Thanks!

4 Replies Last Post Mar 13, 2015, 5:41 a.m. EDT
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 9 years ago Feb 24, 2015, 3:10 p.m. EST
Marko,

I would suggest to draw one fin as a polygonal line with a trapezoid shape, apply fillets to the edges and corners, multiply it with an array node and add the end and bottom portion. If you need it in 3D you can extrude this shape from a workplane.

Cheers
Edgar

--
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com
Marko, I would suggest to draw one fin as a polygonal line with a trapezoid shape, apply fillets to the edges and corners, multiply it with an array node and add the end and bottom portion. If you need it in 3D you can extrude this shape from a workplane. Cheers Edgar -- Edgar J. Kaiser emPhys Physical Technology http://www.emphys.com

Posted: 9 years ago Feb 27, 2015, 6:11 a.m. EST
Thank you for your reply.