Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Magnetic Field of a Multi Layer solenoid

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello Everyone,

I have no experience in using COMSOl.

My professor wants me to run an example project in this software and I have a few specific questions.
The problem statement is:
I have a multi layer coil. Each layer has 10 wounds and there are 5 layers. The coil is wound on a ceramic rod. I need to give AC current as an input and plot the magnetic field distribution around the coil. ( more importantly along the axis of the rod).
How I proceeded
I designed the coil in SOLIDWORKS and imported the file into COMSOL. I designed an cubical test area around the coil (infinite element domain). I specified material for coil as copper and for the test area as air.
What should be the selection in Ampere's law?
I included coil ends and the sidesof test area cube in magnetic insulation.
Then I chose Single turn coil and gave boundary feed (How can I input AC current?) to one end and ground to another.
I chose a fine mesh size and meshed the coil using free tetrahedral. For the test area I chose free triangular.
I input 10 kHz as the frequency.
I don't see any fancy plots coming up. All it shows is 0 and faint green
Can someone tell me where I am going wrong? How do I proceed further?

Thanks in advance,
Rahul Korpu

5 Replies Last Post Aug 23, 2015, 3:37 p.m. EDT

Posted: 9 years ago Jun 18, 2015, 2:23 p.m. EDT
I am not able to upload the file because the site says file size error. The file is only 16 mb.
Also when I am trying to open the file on an other computer, it says file is locked. I didn't lock anything.