Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Modeling Laser with changing focal distance and position

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello All,

I am extremely new to Comsol and have a few questions I put what I think is the most difficult in the title.

I have 2 materials which are in contact, I want to model heating up one of these materials with a laser, modeled as a truncated cone with an elliptical cross-section. I want to be able to vary both the distance the beam is from the boundary and the distance of the focal point from the surface.

In addition I wanted to simulate the contact resistance between the pressed surfaces.

Does anyone have a suggestion for how to do either of these?

Thank you,

John

1 Reply Last Post Apr 14, 2011, 2:39 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 14, 2011, 2:39 p.m. EDT
Hi

I believe you should start by sorting out your model and chopping it into smaller sections, oner physics a time, you talk about contact pressure and related (heat?) conduction, of heating due to incident radiation, and of optical propagation. These can, and in my view, be treated separately, to check that they solve correctly, BEFORE you mix them. In my experience, this is the quickest way, even if the route seems longer.