Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

time varying current

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

im new in COMSOL and would like to know at first:

How can i simulate a time dependent electrical current. I guess, at first i have to choose the " Study Type - time dependent".

I would like to simulate a shortcircuit between two phases (two parallel mounted busbars) and by the way the lorence force caused by the shortcircuit over a defined period of time.

Has anybody an Idea which model from the model library could be useful - or maybe someone has a model that describes a similar problem?!

Thanks in advance

Sven

3 Replies Last Post Nov 18, 2014, 6:25 p.m. EST

Posted: 10 years ago Nov 18, 2014, 4:59 a.m. EST
Dear Sven,

you are right, in order to perform time dependent simulation you need to choose the "Time Dependent" study first.
Generally you can type in your own functions or use the build-in operators like “sin()” to define transient input signal (more build-in operators you can find in the documentation to the Software). Following this you can define a function “sin(2*Pi*50*t[1/s])*2[V]” and set it as a value of the voltage potential in the physics of the simulation. Another example can be to define a step function “Step1” under the “Definitions” node and use it in the physics by typing in the expression “step1(t[1/s])*2[V]”.

Moreover you can also use the “Electrical Circuit” Interface and couple your model to an external circuit. The example model where this procedures is used, you can find on our website: www.comsol.de/model/transient-modeling-of-a-capacitor-in-a-circuit-12695