Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

pressure wave generation due to thermal expansion in fluid

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I'm a beginner of COMSOL, and I m working on a laser-ultrasonic model. But I have encountered a problem and hope someone can help ;)

My model is relatively simple. a small block of metal is immerged in water and a laser is used to heat this metal. The metal will go through an thermo expansion because of the laser heating and generate pressure wave in water.

I split the model in two parts. In the first part, I use the module " Thermal stress" to simulate the thermal expansion of the metal. In the second part, I use an acoustic module "acoustic-solid interaction " to simulate the pressure wave generation and propagation in water.

The output of the first part, Thermal Stress, is displacement, while the input (or boundary conditions) of acoustic model is always pressure. I have some difficulty in setting the boundary conditions for the second part of my simulation.

Does anybody have some ideas? Any suggestions are welcomed ;) Thx

5 Replies Last Post Nov 24, 2015, 10:17 p.m. EST
COMSOL Moderator

Hello Yuankang Lu

Your Discussion has gone 30 days without a reply. If you still need help with COMSOL and have an on-subscription license, please visit our Support Center for help.

If you do not hold an on-subscription license, you may find an answer in another Discussion or in the Knowledge Base.

Posted: 9 years ago Nov 24, 2015, 6:36 a.m. EST
Hi,
May I ask, were you able to solve this problem? Even I have a similar problem and I wish to know how did you manage to solve it?
Especially, the boundary conditions you used for the first part to find displacement field.